The Prime of Your Life

I am a big Amazon fan and have been shopping with them shortly after they opened. True, this stems from the fact that I’m addicted to books, but I also like shopping in my pajamas (without going out in public).

That said, I wasn’t too keen on Prime. As a reader, I view limiting my ability to score books akin to censorship at best and unAmerican at worst. No way would I pay to lock myself into one outlet. Free market is supposed to keep prices low, right? Right and then there was the price setting monopoly of the Big Six NY Publishers brought to bow before the big Zon, and I was torn. The Amazon in the room was fighting the good fight and I wasn’t backing them up. How could I? (NOTE: if your happy to see some of the big NY authors coming out with ebooks at 2.99, you can thank Zon and the competition from indies but that’s another post)

So when my hubby bought his Kindle Fire, we signed up for the trial period.

And didn’t use it.

Then we went on a cruise and it renewed. Fine, I’d give it a try. So I ordered books, er, Christmas presents, yeah, presents for other people using prime. And everything showed up quickly and I received extra discounts on some books, er, presents (note to self, keep that straight). And because the Zon is nothing but a giant computer brain it combined my backorders efficiently, so now I know I’m getting Despicable Me 2 for Christmas (if I couldn’t have figured it out from the marks my husband made on my list that he put back on the fridge).

Alas that’s my only complaint after two months in. I even get to watch movies and tv shows through my Blu-ray player on my TV and now Netflix is feeling neglected. And they have a Christmas section (which unfortunately, I’ve seen them all already). So it seems as if I will keep it.

Even if I haven’t borrowed any books.

About Linda Andrews

Linda Andrews lives with her husband and three children in Phoenix, Arizona. When she announced to her family that her paranormal romance was to be published, her sister pronounce: "What else would she write? She’s never been normal." All kidding aside, writing has become a surprising passion. So just how did a scientist start to write paranormal romances? What other option is there when you’re married to romantic man and live in a haunted house? If you’ve enjoyed her stories or want to share your own paranormal experience feel free to email the author at www.lindaandrews.net She’d love to hear from you.
This entry was posted in Books, Life Observations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Prime of Your Life

  1. danrshaw says:

    Guilty…Before the advent of Kindle I would purchase all my books used from recyle stores. It sure beat paying full price for new releases. Most used book stores around here charge 1/2 of the cover price. They also allow turn ins and give you credit towards a purchase. Never, in my whole life did I realize I was cheating the authors of income. I was recently in Wally World and looked at the paperbacks. I was in sticker shock. I never realized paperbacks now cost the same as hardcover used to cost. I just went home and crawled back in bed with my Kindle praying the prices on books don’t start skyrocketing like the paper and ink books did.

    I guess libraries don’t help the authors much eiher. Specially since you can now digitally “borrow” a book from the library also.

    I feel so deprived since I have a very poor DSL service. Our home is at the very end of the hub for it and if our home was another 20 feet east we wouldn’t get it at all. Our top download speed is 56-60 kps which equates to 5-6 times the speed of a phone connection. That kind of rules out netflix and such. Just to watch videos on youtube is a pain and I more than likely download them and then watch them so I don’t have to wait for that whirling arrow to download more of the video as it’s playing.

Leave a Reply

